Two LBW sophomores named as All-Alabama Academic Team members

LBW Community College sophomores Hannah Payne and Marley Puckett recently received statewide recognition for their exceptional academic achievement, distinguished leadership, and community service after being named as 2021 All-Alabama Academic Team members with the Alabama Community College System.

The students were recognized at the virtual recognition program Friday on the ACCS YouTube and Facebook page.

Hannah Payne is a sophomore from Skipperville, Ala. She will graduate in May with an Associate in Science and plans to attend Troy University and major in education.

“Through teaching, my goal is to make a positive impact on students and work to the very best of my ability to prepare them for their futures,” Payne said.

Payne is a softball player for the LBW Lady Saints and a Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society member. She serves as a volunteer for the Serving Saints group that hosts prayer events and bible studies.
“I love how nice, encouraging, and helpful all of the faculty and staff are at LBW,” Payne said.

Marley Puckett is from Greenville, Ala., and is also pursuing an Associate in Science. She was recently awarded an academic scholarship and acceptance into the nursing program at AUM. She plans to earn a Bachelor’s in Science in Nursing. Her goal is to achieve a Master’s degree in psychiatric mental health and treat patients with mental health disorders.

Puckett is a full-time mom and beekeeper. Still, she also serves as the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society President and volunteers at the Butler County Humane Society.
Her favorite thing about attending LBW has been “the teachers on the Greenville Campus,” Puckett said. “They are the best, and they care so much and will do everything they can for you. I will be so sad to leave them.”

“We are honored to have such accomplished students represent the College, and this is a well-deserved recognition for them both,” said LBW President Dr. Brock Kelley.
The All-Alabama Academic Team recognition program was founded in 1995 to complement the All-USA National Academic Team Program sponsored by USA Today, Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, and the American Association of Community Colleges.