Pitch, Hit and Run winners

Published 2:55 pm Tuesday, May 3, 2011

The Greenville Parks and Recreation Department held the 2011 Aquifina Major League Baseball Pitch, Hit and Run (PHR) competition on Saturday at Beeland Park.

PHR is a skills competition that provides boys and girls between the ages of 7 and 14 the chance to advance through four levels of competition.

The participants begin the competition at the local level with the winners advancing to the sectionals. The winners of the sectionals then have the chance to compete at the MLB team championships, which are hosted at the 30 Major League ballparks. The winners of the team championships then have the opportunity to compete at the national finals, which will be held during Major League Baseball’s All-Star Week.

Email newsletter signup

Winners for the GPRD’s local competition:

Boys Ages 7-8

All-Around Champion: Dawson Sarblar

Pitch Champion: Laquan Robinson

Hit Champion: Laquan Robinson

Run Champion: Dawson Sarblar

Boys Ages 9-10

All-Around Champion: Ja’Shon Robinson

Pitch Champion: Zack Smith

Hit Champion: Jamar Jackson

Run Champion: Bishop Riley

Boys Ages 11-12

All-Around Champion: Brandon White

Pitch Champion: Brandon White, Logan Dickery, Leo Parker

Hit Champion: Leo Parker

Run Champion: Brandon White

Boys Ages 13-14

All-Around Champion: Matthew Shefield

Pitch Champion: Matthew Shefield

Hit Champion: Matthew Shefield

Run Champion: Matthew Shefield

Girls Ages 7-8

All-Around Champion: Tyhane Bedgood

Pitch Champion: Tyhane Bedgood

Hit Champion: Tyhane Bedgood, Tynthia Bedgood, Nimaree Stone

Run Champion: Tynthia Bedgood

Girls Ages 9-10

All-Around Champion: Meizja Burnett

Pitch Champion: Meizja Burnett

Hit Champion: Shelby Vickery

Run Champion: Meizja Burnett

Girls Ages 11-12

All-Around Champion: Yasmine Watkins

Pitch Champion: Yasmine Watkins

Hit Champion: Yasmine Watkins

Run Champion: Yasmine Watkins

Girls Ages 13-14

All-Around Champion: Takira Walker

Pitch Champion: Takira Walker

Hit Champion: Takira Walker

Run Champion: Amber Bedgood