Dixie Minors All-Stars announced

Published 4:26 pm Thursday, June 10, 2010

The 2010 Dixie Minor All-Star teams have been named, says parks and recreation director Jerome Harris.

Also announced were team MVP and sportsmanship awards.

This year marks the return of the 9-year-old only team, which Harris said has been popular with the younger kids.

Email newsletter signup

“Normally, some of these kids wouldn’t make an all-star team,” Harris said. “They get a chance to play with kids their own age and get better.”

The 9-year-olds are slated to compete at district on June 25 in Luverne. The 9 and 10-year-old team will compete in sub-districts in Enterprise June 25 and have the chance to advance to districts in Troy on July 9.

A win there would mean the Greenville All-Star team would return to Troy July 24 for the state championship.

The members of the Dixie Minor 9 and 10-year-old team are as follows: Lucas Taylor, Zachary Waters, Taite Watson, Clay Thompson, Anthony Sellers, Logan Vickery, Ryan Davis, Trevor Langford, Tripp Richarson, Baker Bozeman, Braxton Daniels, Sullivan Harold and Dillon Brown.

Keith Taylor, Chad Vickery and Damon Daniels will be coaching the team.

The members of the 9-year-old team are as follows: Bryce Yancey, Treyton McGough, Wilson Ellis, Joshua Petty, Jackson Blackmon, Curtis Robinson, Willie Stewart, Heath Crawford, Sawyer Hennis, Tydarias Powell, Aubrey Reeves and Caleb Garrett.

Randall Petty and Michael Yancey will be coaching the team.

The following players were named as team MVPs: Astros, Luke Taylor; Rays, Blake Anthony; White Sox, Trevor Langford and Ryan Davis; Red Sox, Clay Thompson and Logan Vickery; Braves, Bryce Yancey; Tigers, Baker Bozeman and Sullivan Harold.

Sportsmanship awards were also given out. These players were among those who received recognition: Astros, Dakota Berry; Rays, Tyler Powell; White Sox, Tripp Richardson; Red Sox Anthony Sellers; Braves, Chrisopher Bedgood; and Tigers, William Luke Hendrix.