Watts wins GCC Invitational

Published 10:40 pm Tuesday, August 25, 2009

Players from around south Alabama converged on the Greenville Country Club this past week to take part in the 62nd annual Men’s Invitational Tournament, and it turned out to be an exciting one.

When the two rounds were over, Marshall Watts and two-time defending champion David Hancock were tied at 136, but Watts claimed the title in the playoff.

Overall, the tournament had 44 players, which was a solid number, but the club was hoping for more.

Email newsletter signup

“We were aiming to get about 60,” said Bill Lewis. “We may try to have it earlier next year because a lot of big country clubs have their tournaments in the summer.”

This year’s tournament had around 30 players registered on Wednesday, but some late sign-ups brought that number up.

Lewis said that the beautiful weather and the state of the course made for some wonderful golf.

“We had a lot of praise from the out-of-town guys, who said this course was the best they’ve seen it,” Lewis said. “We’re going to work harder and see if we can get the draw we want next year.”

Although they’re already looking forward to next year, the Greenville Country Club also has its annual three-man scramble set for Sept. 19-20.

Here are the results:

Flight A

Marshall Watts 66-70—136

David Hancock 69-67—136

Todd Norman 68-73—141

Cody Wesley 71-72—143

Zach Little 72-71—143

Ty Langston 71-73—144

Lew Mitchell 71-74—145

Bill Lewis 73-78—151

Mike Norman 72-80—152

Warren Matthews 72-82—154

Flight B

Lionel Rainey 75-75—150

Cecil Rainey 73-78—151

Mints McGowin 73-78—151

Steve Norman 75-77—152

Tommy Ryan 73-80—153

Colin McCrary 76-77—153

Will Farrar 76-80—156

Jim McGowin 76-81—157

Paul Norman 73-85—158

Wayne Brooks 76-85—161

Flight C

Cam Norman 78-73—151

Hunter Barrow 77-76—153

Cody Norman 78-78—156

Pete Hamilton 80-78—158

Mason Bass 78-82—160

Joe Watts 79-81—160

Larry Philpot 80-84—164

Scott Barnes 81-83—164

Billy Armstrong 82-82—164

Bob Cosby 80-87—167

William Martin 82-92—174

Barry Boan 77-WD

Flight D

Mark Landers 82-80—162

Tommy Guy 85-78—163

Johnny Stapleton 84-81—165

Ricky Langston 84-81—165

Parker Cheatham 85-82—167

Bart Rainey 83-87—170

Mac Russell 85-87—172

Sam Norman 89-86—175

Scott Burkett 84-95—179

Bruce McCarty 101-99—200

Henry Pitts 86-WD

Recent winners

1999 Todd Norman

2000 José Campra

2001 Todd Norman

2002 José Campra

2003 Herschell Headley

2004 Nick McKay

2005 Ned Martin

2006 Josh McLendon

2007 David Hancock

2008 David Hancock

2009 Marshall Watts