County#039;s first female sheriff begins third term

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, January 15, 2003

The Butler County sheriff and nine deputies were sworn in by District Judge Ed McFerrin at the county courthouse, Monday, January 13.

Giving their oaths of office were Sheriff Diane Harris, Chief Deputy Sheriff Ronald Coleman, deputies Darrin Mack, Robbie Dean, Steve Blankenship, Tim Williamson, Carlos Bennett, Kenneth Hadley, Albert McKee and Russell Davis.

Harris was elected for her third term at the helm of the sheriff’s office in November last year.

Email newsletter signup

&uot;I appreciate this opportunity to serve the community in a third term as sheriff,&uot; Harris said.

&uot;I thank them for their support and I will continue to work just as hard as I have in the past for better law enforcement.&uot;

Harris welcomes two new members to her deputy sheriff team.

&uot;We are glad to have Albert McKee and Carlos Bennett join us,&uot; she said. &uot;Bennett previously was an employee at the Butler County jail. I moved him over the department this week to work with me in the Sheriff’s Department. I’m glad to have them both on board.&uot;

The deputies’ numbers include some veterans of law enforcement. Chief Deputy Sheriff Ronald Coleman has been with the department eight years and Deputy Robbie Dean is a three-year veteran.

The other seven deputies were hired by Harris this past year.