Greenville Academy holds sports banquet

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, June 5, 2002

Greenville Academy held its annual sports banquet recently to recognize several outstanding athletes.

Junior high football players recognized at the banquet included Jim Kilpatrick, who was awarded the best defensive lineman award; Steven Lowery and Benji Coughlan, who each received the best offensive lineman award; Jonathan Walker, who was recognized with the sportsmanship award; and Bubba Faulk, who received MVP honors.

In varsity football, Emory Winters received captain honors while Blakely Ward was recognized as "spectator." Captain and "headhunter" honors went to Colt Brantley and Travis Watson received the sportsmanship award. Adam Moore was recognized as MVP for the 2001-2002 season. Micah Moore was awarded the Gary Heath Lineman Award.

Email newsletter signup

Varsity baseball awards went to Adam Moore, who was recognized as MVP and "slugger" while Emory Winters and Micah Moore were recognized as captains. Colt Brantley received "most improved" honors and Travis Watson was honored with the sportsmanship award.

In boys' junior high basketball, Adam Moore was named the defensive MVP while David Moore received offensive MVP honors. Bubba Faulk received best rebounder honors and Jarred Burt was honored with the sportsmanship award.

Boys' varsity basketball honors went to Josh Burt for best offensive player and Blakely Ward for best defensive player. The sportsmanship award went to Jamie Parrish and the most improved award went to Jonathan Bozeman. Travis Watson received the coach's award and Drew Gafford was recognized as captain for the season.

Girls' junior high basketball honors went to Crystle VanCor for most improved and Susan Slaughter for sportsmanship. Skyler Sherrell was named defensive MVP and Brianne Black was named offensive MVP for the 2001-2002 season.

In varsity girls' basketball, Amy Winters received tip-off all-tournament honors, while Lindsey Maraman received 2A regional all-tournament honors and sophomore Ginger May also was recognized with tip-off all-tournament honors.

Kelly McGough received the sportsmanship award for girls' varsity basketball and Farren Butts received the hustler award. Lindsey Maraman was recognized as captain and MVP for the season and Ashley Whittington was named best defensive player. Ginger May was also recognized as a season MVP while Hope Killough received the award for most improved.

For varsity softball, Rachel VanCor received the sportsmanship award, Emily Nelson received most improved honors and Alie Crawford was named MVP of the 2001-2002 season.

Rachel Palmer received most valuable outfielder honors and Amy Winters received most valuable infielder honors. The Bobby Wallace Award went to Jennifer Callen.

Track awards went to Amy Winters, who received the coach's award, and Ginger May and Ashley Whittington, who were recognized as outstanding performers in a track meet. Jonathan Bozeman received the coach's award and Kyle Foster was recognized as an outstanding performer in a track meet.

Justin Greene, Travis Watson and Dustin McNeil were recognized as captains for the 2001-2002 wrestling team. Nicki Cartwright received the "biggest heart" award and Travis Watson and Kyle Foster each were recognized for fourth place finishes in state.

Adam Moore received the MVP award for golf and Brooks Moore received the golf coach's award.

The Ambassador Award went to Emory Winters.