List of qualified candidates released

Published 12:00 am Saturday, April 6, 2002

Friday, March 5, was the last day to qualify for the primary elections being held June 4.

According to Joan Reynolds, Republican party secretary, there are no local candidates.

In the Democratic party, however, Treasurer Maryland Pierce reports the following candidates:

Email newsletter signup


Dianne Harris*

Kenny Hardin

Danny Bond

Lonzo Ingram

Danny Duke

Tax Assessor:

Carolyn Middleton*

Tax Collector:

Bell Peavy*

John Hall


Wayne Garlock*

Richard Hornsby

Calvin Allen

Board of Education

District 1:

Billy Jones*

Deborah Scott

District 2:

Dennis Phillips*

Terry Williams

District 3:

Frank Thigpen*

Marriam Nixon

District 4:

John Peagler*

Linda Hamilton

District 5:

Edward R. McCrory*

Joanne Peak

District Judge

Barry Branum*

J. MacDonald Russell Jr.

* Incumbent