Greenville election set for Tuesday

Published 12:00 am Saturday, September 16, 2000

In less than four days, Greenville residents will decide who will be the city's next mayor.

Mayor Pro-Tem Dexter McLendon and businessman Gene Hudson survived the Aug. 22 election to advance to Tuesday's run-off election.

The winner will succeed Mayor Ernie Smith, who did not seek re-election after serving three terms in Greenville's top post.

Email newsletter signup

Hudson was the top choice in districts four and five, and received 876 votes in the Aug. 22 election. McLendon was the leading candidate in districts one, two and three, and received 669 votes.

Others who sought to become Greenville mayor were Randy Beeson, John Bogan, Larry Hendrick and Debra Hood.

Voters must also decide on two of five council districts.

Steve Norman and Bob Waller, who had the tightest one-two finish of any races on the ticket, face off in the district two race. Norman had 226 votes in the Aug. 22 election, and Waller had 221.

Otto Duke and John Robertson will square off in district three, where they received 179 and 152 votes, respectively.

Polls will be open from 8 a.m. until 6 p.m. on Tuesday.

The polling places are: district one, Butler County Board of Education; district two, city hall council chamber; district three, Butler County court house annex; district four, old armory building; and district five, Robert L. Steiner National Guard Armory.