Butler County School Board celebrates teachers

Published 9:35 am Monday, February 27, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Butler County Board of Education recognized teacher accomplishments and presented several faculty members with Teacher of the Year awards Thursday night at the board’s monthly meeting held at 211 School Highland Road.

“This is probably my favorite board meeting of the year,” said Superintendent Joseph Eiland.

Eiland said the school system was in a bad place in the last year or so; but Butler County schools have worked hard to address problems and find ways to fix those problems.

Email newsletter signup

“I’ve spent a great deal of time on the campuses observing some of the greatness we have in this county,” Eiland said.

Eiland expressed his gratitude to the school principals for their hard work as well as the time and effort it has taken them to seek out and find the teachers who have helped pull the Butler county school system back from the brink of disaster.

“I’m grateful for these principals and teachers,” Eiland said.

Eiland also thanked school board members for their part in helping improve the schools.

“I’m thankful for the board approving the recommendations of these teachers,” Eiland said.

Board member Michael Nimmer from District 1 nodded and said, “You’re welcome.” The other board members agreed and nodded their heads in affirmation.

Eiland again praised the teachers for the job they are doing within the system

“Teachers are the hands and feet that actually do the hard work every day,” Eiland said.

Teacher of the Year awards were presented to the winners for being the best of the best in their schools, Eiland said.

Joetta Wright received the award for Overall Teacher of the Year award for McKenzie School (Elementary) and Rachel Blackburn was awarded Overall Teacher of the Year for McKenzie School (Secondary).

Eiland also presented these two teachers with a $300 gift token of appreciation.

The other recipients of the Teachers of the Year award for Butler county were:

         *Madison Castleberry from W. O. Parmer Elementary School;

         *Tonya Coker from Greenville Elementary School;

         *Shari Powell from Greenville Middle School (Elementary);

         *Anika Colvin from Greenville Middle School (Secondary);

         *Nympha Pugh from Georgiana School (Secondary); and

         *Tammy Glass from Georgiana School (Elementary).