Pioneer Electric holds annual meeting

Published 10:00 am Wednesday, October 16, 2019

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

A record number of members and guests were on hand during last Saturday’s annual meeting of Pioneer Electric Cooperative held at the Butler County Fairgrounds.

More than 250 members attended the meeting with more than 100 family members accompanying them. The 2019 meeting featured fun, business and dozens of prize giveaways.

Various exhibitors from around the area were on hand displaying their services, including a Tesla display. Live music was provided by local band Two Lane Hi-Way followed by Pioneer linemen performing a moving display of the U.S. flag. 

Email newsletter signup

The business meeting featured information on the new bill format and Project Round-Up, which will begin in 2020. It was also announced that there would not be a rate increase.

Trustees in three districts were unanimously reelected, including Carey Thompson, District 2; Dave Lyon, District 5 and  Linda Arnold, District 8. The update to the bylaws passed by an overwhelming margin.

The prize drawings, always a member favorite, ended with member Linda Miller winning the Grand Prize — a year’s worth of electricity cost credited to her bill. The credit is valued at $2,232.

Winners of Pioneer Electric $75 bill credits include, front row, from left, Lucy Williams of Lowndesboro, Dianne Jones of Fort Deposit, Dorothy Simpson of Greenville, Patricia Allen of Greenville, Jeanora Presley of Forest Home and Carolyn Bowden of Honoraville. Back row, Ronald Coleman of Greenville, Dorothy Tillman of Georgiana, Pennsylvania Garrett of Selma and Paul Tate of Honoraville. | Submitted Photo


Linda Miller of Greenville, pictured with Pioneer Executive Vice President and General Manager Terry Moseley, won the Grand Prize of Free Electricity for One Year. | Submitted Photo