Local candidates qualify to run as Republican, Democrat in June primaries

Published 10:40 am Thursday, March 1, 2018

The state and county Republican and Democrat parties have released lists of candidates who have qualified for the 2018 primaries. Primaries for both parties will be held on June 5. Several Republican candidates were incorrectly listed or left off last week’s list.

Candidates listed as qualified on the state Republican party’s website are as follows:

Circuit judge- none listed

Email newsletter signup

Circuit clerk- none listed

House of Representatives- Chris Sells

State Senate- Will Barfoot, Ronda Walker

Local Republican candidates confirmed by Crenshaw County Republican Chair William Rayborn are:

Sheriff: Terry L. Mears, Mickey Powell

County Commission:

District 1- Ricky McElwain, Raymond McGough

District 2- Michelle Stephens, Robert (Bo) Mount

District 3- Merrill Sport, Neil Hughes

District 4: Charles Bailey, Darren Blackmon, Darryl ‘E’ Elliot, Tim Folmar,

Board of Education:

District 1-  Steven L. Jackson

District 2 – Dustin Marchand

District 3- Steve Hermeling

Probate Judge- Will Tate

Candidates listed as qualified on the state Democratic party’s website are as follows:

Circuit judge- Terri B. Lovell

Circuit clerk- Jeannie Gibson

House of Representatives (District 90)- Joanne Whetstone

State Senate (District 25)- David A. Sadler, Frank Snowden

Local Democratic candidates confirmed by Crenshaw County Democratic chair Johnny Nichols are:

Sheriff- Rome Odom, Ronnie White

County Commission:

District 4-Ronnie Hudson, Chris West

District 5- LaFreda Daniels Griffin, Charlie Sankey, Jr.

Coroner- Ronald K. Turner

Board of Education:

District 5- Wanda McVay Pouncey, David Sankey, Cassandra Whatley, Annie Y. Zeigler

Crenshaw County Democratic Executive Committee- Michele Boswell, Vester Burnette, Keither Fowler, Peggy Hollis, April McDonald, Bennie F. McDonald, John A. Nichols, J. Levi Nichols, Rome Odom, Charlie Sankey, Jr., Emmett L. Speed, Jr., Selena Shepherd, Chris West, JoAnne Whetstone