Band members honored at banquet

Published 2:43 pm Tuesday, May 17, 2016

The Greenville High School band recently recognized its members during its annual banquet.

Devin Gavin received the John Philip Sousa Award for outstanding contributions to the overall band program.

Mary Margaret LeCoq was presented the Louis Armstrong Award for outstanding contributions to the jazz band.

Email newsletter signup

Jennyfer Maciel received the National Marching Band Award for outstanding contributions to the marching band.

All three have signed band scholarships in recent weeks. Gavin will attend Alabama State University, LeCoq will attend the University of Alabama and Maciel will attend UAB. All three will march in their university’s respective bands.

Avant Wilkerson was given the Director Award, which is presented annually to an outstanding first year high school marching band member.

Students receiving the Letter Award, which is awarded to students that successfully complete one full season of marching band include: Avant Wilkerson, Laun Pryor, Keyanna Sturgeon, Markita Crittenden, Lindsay Nichols, Banes Carlyon, Ja Dazia Posey, Hannah Nichols, De Jonae Davis, Mary Margaret LeCoq, William Ward, JaLisa McCall, Javtaris McCall, Arieona Crenshaw, Stephen Cook, Jonathon Jones, Davori Cook, Jarrod Johnson, Quiondra Thomas, Jayla Crenshaw, Annalee Newton, Sarai Williams, Reagan Smith, Devin Gavin, Jennyfer Maciel, Ashanti Ward, Kirkland Scott, Nakeya Moorer, Alexis Nept and Hannah Piggott.