Commissioners to run unopposed

Published 4:13 pm Tuesday, November 17, 2015

For the next four years, the Butler County Commission will be unchanged.

Qualifying for the 2016 election for both the local Democratic and Republican parties ended Nov. 6.

The five commissioners that won election in 2012 — Darrell Sanders, Allin Whittle, Frank Hickman, Jesse McWilliams and Joey Peavy — all qualified as Democrats and are running unopposed on the Democratic ticket, according to documents filed with Butler County Probate Judge Steve Norman.

Email newsletter signup

According to Cleve Poole, chairman of the Butler County Republican Party, there were no Republican qualifiers for any of the commission races.

Charlotte Tesmer, a Democrat who is seeking a second term as district attorney for the Second Judicial Circuit, will be running against William Rayborn, of Brantley, who has qualified as a Republican.