Thompson named ACA Fellow

Published 3:49 pm Friday, May 31, 2013

Dr. Jean A. Thompson, former director of LBW Community College’s Greenville campus, has been recognized by the American Counseling Association.

Thompson was recently named a 2013 American Counseling Association Fellow.

According to the ACA board, Fellow status is given to ACA members of professional distinction who have been recognized for significant and unique contributions in professional practice, scientific achievement, governance, or teaching and training.

Email newsletter signup

Thompson’s academic career has included faculty positions and administrative roles as department chair, assistant dean, campus   dean, district dean at DeKalb College (Georgia) and campus director and English instructor at  LBW Community College.

Thompson’s various professional leadership roles including president of the American Counseling Association (ACA), treasurer of the ACA, president of the American School Counselors Association (ASCA), vice president of ASCA post-secondary division,  and president of the Georgia School Counselors Association, where she provided direction in identifying important issues in the profession.  She was instrumental in providing leadership to gain licensing for the elementary school counselors in the different states.  She has served as a site team member for numerous CACREP and Southern Association Accreditation site visits.

Thompson retired from LBW in 2010 after 51 years in education.

She currently serves on numerous community boards including the L.V.Stabler Memorial Hospital Board of Trustees, the Greenville-Butler County Public Library Board, the Rotary Club of Greenville Board of Directors and the LBWCC Foundation Board of Trustees.

She is past president of the Sasanqua Garden Club, the Rotary Club of Greenville and the Butler County Historical Society.

She served on the Greenville City Council for eight years, the Greenville Area Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors for six years, the Greenville Area Arts Council, and is active in the Greenville First United Methodist Church.

Among the honors she has received include being a three-time recipient of the Paul Harris Fellow; the LBWCC Foundation name an endowed scholarship in her honor;  received the  2008  Phi Theta Administrator of Distinction National Hallmark Award and was  recognized as the Outstanding Community College Faculty Member at LBWCC in 1997 and 2004.