Superintendent’s evaluation underway

Published 9:00 am Saturday, September 17, 2011

The Butler County Board of Education has begun its evaluation of Superintendent Darren Douthitt.

Dr. James Wright, a former Principal Investigator with AUM’s South East Regional Resource Center in Montgomery, will conduct the evaluation, which is expected to be completed by the spring.

“The timeline of when this can be completed and presented to the board depends on when get all the information submitted that we need to conduct our evaluation,” Wright said.

Email newsletter signup

According to Wright, information for the evaluation will be collected from questionnaires and surveys filled out by the members of the Board of Education, Central Office personnel and principals, as well as a portfolio prepared by the superintendent and a “structured interview” with the superintendent. The interview will consist of six questions and will be answered in writing.

“All of these sources will provide the information that we need to get an accurate evaluation,” Wright said. “We’ll tabulate the information and get a composite score that will show us how the superintendent is doing in 13 areas of knowledge and skill competency.”

Once completed, Wright will present the findings to the board in an open meeting.

In other business:

The BOE recognized 28 students who were recognized for their participation in Duke’s Talent Identification Program (TIP).

TIP identifies gifted children based on standardized test scores and provides resources to assist in nurturing their development.

In order to be selected for the program, students must score in the 95th percentile on the ACT or SAT.

“These students are brilliant,” Douthitt said. “We are extremely proud of all of these students.”

BOE president Linda Hamilton applauded the student’s accomplishments.

“This is great news for our school system,” she said. “To have so many students do so well is a great accomplishment.”

The following students were recognized as TIP students:

Greenville Middle School

De’Jah Bedgood

Leandria Bradley

Austin Burgans

Adam Carstens

Jeremy Clemmons

Benjamin Gafford

Mya Gulley

Latieka Hawkins

Lemontrez Hines

Jarrod Johnson

Christopher Knight

Aaliyah Martin

Alasha McDonald

Tiera Nall

Dedric Owens

Jordan Parker

Joseph Price

Jan’Tejia Scott

Kaitlyn Smith

Sellers Swann

Garrett Till

Cari Waller


Ashley Brogden

Zachary Burt

Logan Vickery

Kaitlyn Padgett

Alexis McDowell


Ezekiel Powell