FDA holds annual golf tourney

Published 8:23 pm Tuesday, June 2, 2009

While rain interfered with any outdoor activities during the first part of last week, the weather couldn’t have been prettier for the annual Fort Dale golf tournament held Saturday at Cambrian Ridge.

“It certainly was a beautiful day for it,” said tournament coordinator Ken Gibson.

While participation in the tournament was down slightly from last year, Gibson said he would still call it a success.

Email newsletter signup

“We had about 15 teams come out,” he said. “We didn’t have quite as many players as last year, but it was still very successful, even after we had a major fundraiser in April with the rodeo.”

The Eagles picked up 35 signed sponsors for the event and around 10 others also donated for the event.

“It was a very successful event for us,” Gibson said.

Here are the full results (by net score):

No. 1: 53.6 — Warren Matthews, David Scott, Paul Stabler and Doug Scott.

No. 2: 54.1 — David Hancock, Mints McGowin, Phillip Murphy and Scott Barnes

No. 3: 54.3 — Earnest Dean, Roger Nicholas, Henry Golson and Don Boutwell

54.8 — J.P. Champion, Rusty Champion, Glenn House and Tahi Flowers

55.2 — Joey Peavy, Todd Norman, Tommy Ryan and Ashley Vansant

56.2 — Al Brannon, Tuffy Rainey, Lionel Rainey and Mark Landers

56.3 — Ronnie Paulk, Brian Paulk, Jimmy Lofton and Cody Norman

56.6 — Cody Wesley, Mac Russell, Bill Lewis and Ken Corley

57.2 — John Strickland, Johnny Hassett, Rod Simmons and Butch Hornsby

58 — Keith Taylor, Larry Philpot, Sam Wilson and Michael Whiddon

58.8 — Ed Sims, Walton Hickman, Ben Campbell and Matt Langford

60.4 — Charles Heartsill, Edward Craig, Chris Edgar and Tim Davis

61.4 — Sam Cates, Bill Cates, Ben Cates and Jimmy Giddens

62.5 — George Till, Josh Beverly, Clay Beverly and Paul Whigham

Closest to pin:

Sherling No. 2 — Scott Barnes

Sherling No. 4 — John Strickland

Canyon No. 2 — Ed Sims

Canyon No. 8 — J.P. Champion